“Tomorrow is the most important thing in life. ” How important is it for individuals and countries to think for future rather than focusing on the present?

It is irrefutable that both the present and the future have an inextricable relationship with human survival. Because of that, public opinion remains divided over whether societies should live in the current moment without any anticipation of future scenarios. Some people argue that planning for the future plays the most integral role in human life. While this thinking may be valid to a certain extent, I would contend that citizens and nations should reach the delicate balance between living for the future and enjoying the moments in the present. It is understandable why some people advocate the future would be prioritized and of paramount importance to mankind. The key rationale in favor of this view is that planning for the future is a basic precondition to our survival. Long-term investment of governments ranging from scientific research, transportation, power distribution to especially education systems fortifies that valuable asset of thinking in the direction of the time coming of human civilization. Former late Indian Prime Chancellor Mr. Rajiv Gandhi perfectly exemplifies this situation. In 1970, he made a blueprint to introduce the computer in India and laid the foundation for radical technological advancements such as the navigational system and contemporary missile technology. This is a testament to the vision of Mr. Gandhi about the time ahead helped the Indian Economy’s development. On the other hand, I would contend that both the present and the future have been equally at the core of the development of human civilization, and it is undoubtedly that the present is key to perpetuating this process. In lieu of obsessing with fabricated future scenarios, it would seem sensible that individuals make efforts to make the present time better which quickly becomes the past. Therefore, prioritizing the current pleasant life would deter people from a deep regret for missing out. For example, some people delude themselves into sacrificing almost everything in the name of practicality, frugality, or whatever long-term goal they have for the sake of the future. They may work long hours, neglect self-care, bypass little joys, and rush throughout each day, which culminates in dismay from humans. In conclusion, while planning and scheduling life are fundamental to mankind, there is by no means the overarching element. From all this, it is apt to say that both the future and the present are equally of paramount importance.