TOKYO – Washoku, the traditional cuisine of Japan, is being considered for designation as part of the world's priceless cultural heritage by the U.

TOKYO – Washoku, the traditional cuisine of Japan, is being considered for designation as part of the world's priceless cultural heritage by the U. N. this week. Washoku embraces seasonal ingredients, a unique taste, time consuming preparation and a style of eating steeped in centuries of tradition. Kumakura believes UNESCO recognition will send a global message and boost efforts to save washoku, a fight that faces serious challenges. The younger generation is increasingly eating Krispy Kreme donuts and McDonald's instead of eating rice. Their reasonable prices and fast service are prevalent and attract the stomachs of the workaholic “ salaryman” and OL, short for “ office lady”. As washoku dims in popularity, the inherent community relations that have historically existed are more likely to be forgotten and lost, such as cooking together for New Year's and other festivals.