The advantages and disadvantages of increasing car owners

In our lives, we travel from one place to another for a great variety of reasons and while traveling we greatly depend on cars, whether it is a private car or a public bus. The number of car owners is increasing every day because every person expects the freedom to travel and comfort while traveling. And that is why most of us want to own a car. However, owning a car have many advantages and disadvantages as well. The main advantage of owning a car is it gives the freedom to travel. If you have a car then you don't need to be limited to fixed routes and timetables. Moreover, a car-owner can take is/her family members with him/her and other necessary goods whenever he/she wish which might have been impossible otherwise. In addition, personal cars give comfort while traveling on the contrary to the public buses which are so crowded and disgusting. You can read books, listen to music or even can play with kids while you are in your own car but those all seem to be impossible in public transport. On the contrary, owning a car is very expensive. The price of the car, the cost of the tax, insurance cost, fuel cost, driver's salary, car repairing, etc. all must be considered before buying a car and that is why it is out of reach of the middle-class people. Moreover, private cars can not carry many passengers at a time yet occupy spaces in the street. As the number of cars is increasing on the road so does the traffic jam. Perhaps the major disadvantage of cars, in general, is the huge damage they do to human health and to the environment. More cars mean more pollution. The Environmental pollution is a serious issue today and at any cost, we must reduce the amount of pollution and if we consider it then owning a car is never a good idea. To sum up, having a car gives someone freedom but if the public transportation system is easily accessible, safe, and efficient, then the idea of buying and owning a car should be abandoned.