In order to reduce pollution, some people think it's better to put a tax on companies which produce pollution. Others believe that there could be other solutions.

In order to lower the rate of pollution, some people think that it's preferable to put a tax on companies which produce pollution but others believe that there could be other solutions. I believe in both options and will explain these points in the upcoming paragraphs. Firstly, some people have a thought that imposing huge taxes from the pollution creating factory is a good way to reduce the rate of pollution. Governments can use these taxes to create a fund or organization that could help implement pollution control measures such as effluent treatment plants, degrading rivers, cutting a huge amount of trees etcetera. Moreover, taxes will increase the price of goods in the market which will reduce consumption, and hence pollution will also decrease. For example, the government of Singapore has imposed heavy taxes on all manufacturing facilities and used these funds to clean rivers, install machines to absorb harmful gases in Singapore’s air. Thus a heavy tax on companies has played an important role in making Singapore a clean place to live. Next are the people who think there can be other ways than imposing taxes on the factories and companies which creates more pollution. There can be other several ways such as spreading social awareness through various private or public Ngo's or strong oversight on the industries which exploits nature or use paper and plastic this can be very efficient in reducing the degradation of nature and pollution. If people are more aware of the situation they will not purchase items that are harmful to the environment and nature. In conclusion, I believe that heavy tax on companies is not an effective way to reduce pollution since it translates to an increase in prices of goods which eventually harm the consumers. Governments should strictly regulate the polluting industries and make the public aware of pollution emitted by any product. This will not only make people more aware of their duty to protect their environment, but also make Earth a sustainable place to live.