Today's media (TV and news sites for example) offer a lot of information on many topics, but people do not use this information to really learn something thoroughly and in depth.

In this day and age, the availability of news is higher than ever before. Sites, apps, and television enable the public to stay up-to-date; however, some theorize that the populace does not delve into the issues presented. Personally, I firmly agree with this viewpoint, and in the following essay, I will elaborate on my reasons. Firstly, the overflow of information in modern society makes it difficult to comprehensively focus on current issues. The exponentially increasing exposure to information due to social media, Youtube, Google, etcetera makes it progressively tougher to follow everything. Therefore, individuals' limited energy and capacity force them to choose only a few topics to examine more thoroughly; whereas, other subjects deemed less important will only get a brief overlook. For instance, I am more intrigued by foreign policy, environmental concerns, and welfare; thus, when I encounter articles about different topics, such as finance and business, I will be more inclined to notice only the general idea. Correspondingly, most items are not profoundly explored because people do not have the time or energy. Moreover, according to psychologists, people today are more prone to stay on the superficial level of things. The fast-paced rate in social media, movies, and TV shows prompts the habituation and even expectation for short, quick, and dynamic content. Hence, the overall tendency to learn things deeply, including materials that fascinate a person, is substantially diminished. This idea is backed by a study conducted by the Hebrew University of Jerusalem that discovered a significant reduction in people's total time spent on topics that attract them. Compared to 20 years ago, individuals between 20-40 years old spent 20% less time, and those under twenty spent 40% less. In other words, today's population is even less likely to analyze matters that they are keen on, so it is only natural that items about different topics are not extensively learned. In conclusion, the rapid rate and information overload in contemporary times are making it challenging to actually study the issues brought by the media. Consequently, the topics are rarely considerably explored.