Children today would be happier if thery had fewer possessions.

In this day and age, we are witnessing a widespread depression epidemic at young ages. Some psychologists argue that owning fewer material possessions can ameliorate kids' well-being. Personally, I firmly agree because happiness does not come from outside factors. In this essay, I will further elaborate on my reasons for believing so. Firstly, when youth focus on having things, they are prone to compare themselves to others. There will always be toys that a child does not have, yet his friends possess; hence, causing jealousy and frustration. Supporting this idea is a recent study conducted by the Hebrew University of Israel that found that individual that grew with many belongings are less content with what they have and more envious of their peers. Furthermore, those negative emotions also indirectly impair happiness by promoting behaviors that alienate friends and families, such as not complimenting others, flaunting wealth, and in extreme cases, even theft. Correspondingly, parents ought to buy fewer toys so as to habituate their boys and girls not to lean on them. Moreover, when people are dependent on outside sources for well-being, they are bound to be more depressed. Happiness is a mental state that was proved to arise from intrinsic sources, like challenging oneself, fulfilling ons' endeavors, and expressing gratitude. Take, for example, a child that exerted himself and received straight A's or praise from his parents for his piano performance. Those experiences are a source not only for enjoyment but for mental health and long-range happiness. Personal effects, however, prompt a brief but addictive pleasure brought forth by the small rush of endorphins; ergo, in the long-term, too many will risk teaching the child to rely on them. Accordingly, some things can indeed be pleasant, whereas an accessive amount might be detrimental. In conclusion, our kids do not have to be monks and focus only on spirituality to be content. Some presents and toys can cause positive emotions and stimulate development; nevertheless, too much can lead to reliance on outside elements and unpleasant feelings and conduct.