Today’s fresh food like vegetables or fruits travels thousands of miles from the rural areas or farms before it reaches customers in cities or urban areas. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative trend?

Human beings nowadays are benefited from cutting-edge technology in agribusiness. People can mostly enjoy vegetables and fruits without having a chance to observe their origins thanks to improvements in transportation, lower price and specialized agricultural areas. This might lead to some more pollution and difficulties to maintain quality of those vegan, raw foods, but the revenue and development in agribusiness are far more worthy. Transportation needs many factors to become as advanced as it is at the present. Firstly, it is obvious that foods are now carried by a much more advanced logistic system than before. The modified trucks can provide a longer period of on-road storage, developed highways also enable vehicles to travel faster. Therefore, vegan, raw foods can be transported to a much further from their crops. Secondly, to meet the demand of high-quality product, corporations have to specialize their farms so that they establish specialized agriculture zones, each will grow some particular vegetables or fruits. Those areas need to be distanced from rural areas to save labour and rental cost so that the potential profit can rise significantly. This can be viewed as a negative trend because more pollution is released into the air and the product quality is harder to ensure. Nevertheless, it is more wise to consider its impacts as advantages. It is clear that agriculture will improve tremendously thanks to the centralized farming. Farmers have more chance to cooperate with each other, agricultural suppliers will reach to their customers easier, larger stocks can be built to store harvested crops. Crops also bring huge revenue if they are transported far away to regions where the demand is high. Reversely, chances are brought to consumers who wants to try vegetables and fruits that they would never locally see. In conclusion, the innovations in logistics and emerging agriculture areas has enabled human beings to enjoy vegetables and fruits which were distantly grown. There are some negative impacts that need to be restrained. However, improvement in crop farming, huge profits and more access to vegan raw foods, clearly confirm that this trend is beneficial