Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Most of the people are working for themselves these days, which is quite common due to ease of advanced technology. This essay will discuss the reasons why it is different from the past, when people worked for the company, along with the drawbacks of being self-employed. The growing number of startups benefitted to young entrepreneur because of leading edge technology and the possibilities of an internet. It has made everything trouble-free that people may work as freelancers or start their own company in terms of making good money. It has never been easier because in the past working for yourself required renting an office or shop. Furthermore, self employment allows to choose the hours when you work, hence, people can organize their tasks accordingly. For instance, a person who prefers nights might choose to conduct their business at night, whereas someone can work from a laptop while travelling different places no matter when. People typically prefer this because it allows them a great deal of freedom. Moreover, running your own business gives you a chance to make more money. Of course, there are some disadvantages to being unemployed. This sort of employment lacks the security of a traditional job. If things don’t go well, people may face substantial financial loss and there is no guaranteed income that a self employed person will earn enough to live a comfortable life. In most countries, workers are protected by laws and that guarantee them certain rights. However, with no employer and no workplace, these laws do not apply. In conclusion, self-employment is prevalent among the young and there are several factors which influence youngsters decision. But every venture comes with some cons and the young should be aware of them.