Nowadays more and more people want to get things done instantly. Why is it? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In today’s advanced time with everything available just a click away, the development of a culture of instant gratification is on a rise. This essay highlights lack of patience as the primary reason behind it and argues that it is a negative development as it increases our dependence on technology and affects our mental health. The era of technology has made it convenient for us to avail anything online and perform a variety of tasks in a short period. We can make our payments and socialize with friends online instead of standing and waiting in long queues or stepping outside of our homes. Even though it has made our lives simpler, it has also increased our dependency on it and increased our need for instantaneous results. I have personally observed my friends getting agitated if their cab gets delayed by a few minutes or if they aren’t receiving responses to their messages. Even though receiving instant results provides a sense of relief and happiness, it is very short-lived. Because of this, we keep searching for the next step to satisfy ourselves without realizing the stress it causes. This forms a vicious circle where we keep setting targets that bring us instant happiness due to the underlying anxiety acting as a catalyst. This has become one of the leading causes of depression and other problems. In a survey conducted by the USA government, it was revealed that 70% of the young generation experienced some form of mental distress due to lack of instant gratification. This further emphasizes that this culture of getting things done instantaneously is more damaging to young minds. In conclusion, I believe that wanting quick results stems from a basic lack of patience and increased dependence on technology which is rather a negative development in present times.