TODAY, THE HIGH SALES OF POPULAR CONSUMER GOODS REFLECT THE POWER OF ADVERTISING AND NOT THE REAL NEEDS OF THE SOCIETY IN WHICH THEY ARE SOLD.

In the current era, all believe in making an impression. We can say that, all are going to be materialistic & not understanding their original needs. The section of society says that nowadays due to large extent of advertising people attract them to buy fancy consumer goods which are actually no use of them. I tend to agree with this point of view that if you are not in need of some goods then no need to buy it. I am of the opinion that all has to purchase only those things which are actually in the area of their concern. The primary reason for my belief is purchasing of not necessary items will lead to waste of money as well time. Generally, it is all right to attract towards fancy adverts, all merchants circulate widely to attract people like us. Advertisements are useful when we want to buy some specific thing, but we are not aware of the place from where we got it, at that time it will save our time to go out & search for it rather we can just order it online via any of website. Another reason for me to back my notion is some people will purchase things to show off their status in the society. At that time, sometimes, he/she can do mistake by wasting money & also create shortage of that item, in way, that some part of society really wants it but due to lack of quantity they might not get the same. Let’s take an example; I remember one day when I had spent 1000/- INR to buy one electronic device when I was with my friends. One salesperson create a centre of attention over there with all electronic devices. I had one headphone with me, but despite of it, I took another headphone from there because of its attractive deal. Actually, frankly speaking after that day I never use that. On the other hand, there are individuals in the society, who are in opinion in, adverting does not impact of high sales, it totally depends of needs of persons. One of the reasons for this outlook is there is one specific group of people over here who are not using mobile or internet, nor they went outside to shop. These people are not alert of any advertisements but still they purchase goods to fulfil their wish. To support it with an example, I will say that all local shoppers do not circulate fancy public notice to increase his sales, but still people who are residents of nearby location will purchase items from that shop only despite of no fancy ads. To conclude, there indeed are those who convinced with the fact that High sales not reflect real needs of society. I, however, am of the strong belief that sales increases due to Large amount of advertising for consumer goods.