Today: the high sales of popular con

I disagree to a great extent. Consumers buy popular goods with cares and precautions. I have read an article about how many consumers read the comments before actually buying. The real needs of the society can be split into economic, justice, laws etc. For this question it obviously is the economic part. When consumers buy items, they pay, to both the market and the government. The government than in turn uses taxes to help the society so therefore this entire argument does not stand. If the entire society promotes a kind of, say, mops. People who’ve bought it have been saying how good the handle is, how clean it can wipe the floor. That is a real benefit for cleaner homes and the economy, not the power of advertising. ​However the power of advertising cannot be underestimated. Although most popular goods are worth buying and benefits the society, some aren’t. Case in point: In China there were once a wave of consumers buying “glove claws” for cats. Popular people on the internet had been propagating about how cute and useful it is. However the reality is the glove claws hurt the cat itself by not letting it extract its claw. This can lead to serious paw injuries even causing a cat depression or death. Things such as slime had been advertising: “It’s so squishy, harmless, come and play some” But later scientist found that these so called harmless slime is made of so many poisonous chemicals it can kill a child. Therefore I agree to a fair extent on the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.