Today, the high sales of consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which the goods are sold.

Advertisements nowadays comes in various forms and it is true that they are the reason behind products being purchased by huge number of people, even though they were not really necessities. I highly disagree with this, as in my opinion these are what society exactly needs. Admittedly, we people are easily attracted to something that grabs our attention. Thus, many companies of various goods use this as their main reason in creating advertisements. Billboards, posters in crowded areas, heartwarming commercials in television or radios are among the techniques they commonly used. As a result, once people find it amusing, they do buy these products. This is proven by a product being endorsed by famous celebrities. With their credibility and attractive appearance, these eminent people can be the reason for items to sell out to the public. Most of the time, these are evidenced on products such as cosmetics, cars, fast food/restaurants, wherein the artist will star in attention grabbing commercial and the results are, people are enticed to it. Thus, resulting to huge sales of the products. However, most of the time this is not the case. In my view, people today are more careful with spending their money than ever before. Nowadays, people are smart in choosing the products for themselves thus, they are buying only what they need. The reason why many famous products are being sold out is due to the belief that it could complement the buyer’s needs. For example, the reason why many people wanted the latest car model is because it comes with a new feature that can be used for safety purposes. In terms of cosmetics, the reason why young people are very much into it is because they think that it can help them improve their appearance. Which is a common characteristic that is present during younger years mostly they are self-conscious. On the other hand, the main cause why commercialized fast food and junk foods are being sold easily is because people nowadays are very busy and does not have anymore time to cook for themselves. To conclude, advertising has huge impact on people. But people today are more careful in spending their money, and would buy what they need, it just so happened that these high selling goods are convenient and highly accessible. Furthermore, given the economic difficulties most people are encountering we are more focused on quality and it is believed that it is present on famous goods.