Today much of the food people eat gets transported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only consumed food produced by the local farmers. Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages.

In this contemporary era, much of the imported food is eaten by people. It is generally considered by a few people that environment would be improved by consuming local produced food. This notion has more benefits than it's drawback which will be discussed in this essay. Eating local produced food by individuals has a few benefits. Initially, the pollution in the environment will be reduced because food is transported through distinct ways such as planes or ships which lead to the severe impact on the natural habitat. However, if local produced food is consumed by them, the transportation will less. Because there will be no need of imported food, due to the availability of local food which will be the great step to restrict pollution. In addition to this, countries produced food is much healthier than the imported because different chemicals are used to make that food fresh but local food is easily available and there is no need to preserve it for long time. Chemicals are applied because food easily gets staled which reduces it's quality. Thus, these are some merits of consuming local produced food. On the other hand, there is having a prominent demerit that it may put negative impact on the business of export and important because many countries on globe are dependent on this. If individuals reduce the usage of imported food, other countries may suffer from poverty. Nations may also face food scarcity because there is limited choice of food and people are having preference to eat different cuisines which are made by imported stuff. Consequently, countries may face obstacles which are mostly depending on the import export business. To conclude, although there is likelihood of food scarcity in some countries, it is very beneficial for people and environment if the usage of imported food is regulated.