Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening and what measures can be taken to solve this problem?

A number of criminals reoffend after they have completed their penalty and released from prison. The main reasons are due to lack of job opportunity and minimal deterrent effect of the penalty. Several measures are able to tackle this issue from government by offering training and using watching wrist band. One of the causes of committing crime again can be attributed to the difficulty to find a job. Although criminals have rehabilitated, discrimination still exists. For instance, employers will carry out background check and hence they are reluctant to take risk to hire a potential offender. As a result, without income source, criminal will rather become a repeat offender instead. In addition, the punishment applied to the criminal has limited effect. They have gained experience and learnt more skill from other criminals during prison time. They will plan carefully and gather with other groups of criminals to organize a crime again. To combat this issue, government plays an important role to decrease the crime rate. Firstly, government can provide vocational training to support criminals. Learning some basic computer skill and knowledge of prevalent industries such as cooking, building and construction are examples to help criminals to find a job in which they can also integrate back to society easily. Moreover, watching wrist band can be introduced to request offenders to wear it mandatory until they behave well for a period of time. The aim is to deter them to commit crime again as their daily routes are monitored. Other criminals will not contact them as well to avoid the exposure of their illegal activities. In conclusion, first time offenders re-commit crime again is mainly because of unemployment and limited impact from the punishment. Government can solve the problem by introducing measures of offering training and imposing watching wrist band to offenders.