Today more and more tourists are visiting places where the conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara Desert or The Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

An increasingly number of travelers, nowadays, are interested in travelling to areas having harsh conditions. Visiting such places would undoubtedly, bring a lifetime experience and recognition over social media but this has its own downsides. One evident benefit of having a vacation in harsh places is the unique and irreplaceable experiences that it brings, which implants a long-lasting memory in oneself. In other words, people are astonished to see surreal, breathtaking views that are rarely available elsewhere. Northern lights in Iceland, for instance, presents one such example, watching which, leaves people awe-struck. Exhilaration and adrenaline rush are another added benefit for the individuals. Another obvious advantage is the amount of appreciation and recognition sightseers get over social media, once the images of such places are shared over it by them. Consequently, this results in an exponential rise in the number of followers over the social platform which helps in alleviating their confidence. There are, on the other hand, undeniable disadvantages of visiting places with unfavorable condition. To begin with, extreme weather condition of such places, namely, Antarctica or Amazon forests, makes it difficult for the tourist to have comfortable vacation. Additionally, most of these places have scarcity of fundamental requisite for human survival such as oxygen or drinkable water, which could result in life-threatening situation for travelers. To illustrate, people trekking in Himalayan region sometime lose consciousness due to lack of oxygen and are advised to carry enough oxygen for the trip. Furthermore, most of these places are deprived of vegetation because of which tourists have minimal options available and, therefore, have to survive on limited supply. To conclude, while there are extra-ordinary experiences and thrill associated with visiting extreme-condition sites, it comes with a price of sacrificing luxury and comfort along with life-threatening circumstances.