Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic? What are the benefits and disadvantages of this?

There is a significant spike in number of tourists who are visiting places with harsh weather conditions such as dry lands in the Sahara desert and frozen lands in the Antarctic. This essay will eloborate benefits and possible drawbacks about the choice of visiting such places. To commence with, it can be a good choice for the people who like to experience extreme conditions that exists in aforementioned places. Moreover, there are some visitors who opt to put targets for themselves which are very strenuous to achieve, choosing places like deserts and cold regions can offer perfect location and reason for such people. In addition to that, myriad of people around the world are chasing the trend of learning survival skills. For example, a documentary of National Geographic channel showed that the affrican government have arranged a number of survival camps in the Sahara desert which enchanted mutlitude of tourists from all over the globe. On the other hand, tourists can end up in seriously dangerous conditions if they are visiting these places. Firstly, health risks become major concern. Such as hypothermia, vulnerability to extremely low or high temperatures. Secondly, if the tourists get lost during the journey, there will be very less chances of getting rescued as the places are not so popular and because of that reason the authorities do not have profound rescue plans in place. Furthermore, these trips can be extravagant and need huge amount of money to make it happen. For example, trips to the cold places such as Antarctic is exceptionally high-priced not only because special safety equipments are required to survive in the brutal environment but also experienced tour guide is essential to accompany the tourists. To conclude, even though places with unfavourable environment pose several risks, people are visiting the places because some take it as a accomplishment and believe that one should have such experience once in a lifetime. People should carefully consider possible hazards before considering to visit such places.