Many people believe that in order to have clean and tidy streets in their neighbourhood, this should be the residents’ responsibility; while others think it should be the government’s duty. What is your opinion?

It is the desire of the people that streets in their premises should be clean and tidy. While some think individuals have the primary responsibility for making this happen, others think it is the obligation of the state. Both views are significant, and hence a detailed discussion is needed before framing a logical conclusion. On the one hand, those who think it is the government’s responsibility feel that only a systematic approach can make this happen. They think that there should be a well-established legal system, which should be kept before the citizens, and this can ensure the cleanliness of their surroundings. Most governments levy taxes from the public, either directly and indirectly, and naturally, it becomes their responsibility to maintain streets clean and tidy, they add. Finally, they think that the cleaning process involves some sorts of investment, staff and machineries, and individuals can hardly afford such expenses. On the other hand, those who think the other way believe that the way which the streets proximal to a residential community reflects their identity. It is to be understood that clean and tidy surroundings are indeed the pride of the residents. Secondly, they highlight the social responsibility of maintaining these places tidy. In order to have a healthy and safe environment, an individual should not only maintain his home clean, but also his surroundings. Lastly, only when the primary initiative is taken by the individual residents, ranging from proper segregation and disposal of wastes to growing trees for shades, governments can accomplish the goal in a perfect manner. After analysing both these views in detail, even though it appears that both governments and residents have equal responsibility in making the streets clean and tidy, I think the role of the latter is more significant.