Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Travelling provides people with new interesting experience. This may be the main reason why there is an increasing number of trips to isolated places such as the Sahara Desert, the Antarctic or the Mount Everest. Since everything has two sides, this essay will discuss some pros and cons of this type of tourism. On the one hand, tourists gain many advantages from the trip to those extreme areas. Firstly, they may become stronger individuals physically and mentally. Before a trip, people have to do extensive exercises which are designed to train their physical health to fit the journey. Likewise, they must prepare their attitude so that they will not give up halfway. We may all agree that these journeys require tremendous effort to reach the destinations. Additionally, travellers can learn surviving skills in extreme conditions such as how to keep your body warm in the freezing temperature of Antarctic or how to navigate to find water if you are stuck in a desert. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks associated with the journey. There are some incidents that threaten people’s life during their trip. For instance, if you travel to the Sahara Desert and you forget to zip you tent properly at night, you may be visited by poisoned snakes. They are extremely dangerous because you can die with just a bite. Another important issue is that the environment can be affected due to human activities. Recently, the Nepali authority, the country where the Mount Everest situated, has raised an alarm of the rising pollution in this tourist destination. There are thousand tonnes of rubbish which the mountaineers leave behind every year. There is a campaign cleaning the “roof of the world”. In conclusion, travelling to difficult areas such as a desert, the poles or high mountains is either interesting or dangerous. It is only suitable for people who have good physical and mental health. People should consider carefully before attending to such journeys.