Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as Sahara or Antarctica.

In the past, hardly anyone set to surmount inaccessible locations such as Mount Everest or the Sahara Desert; however, nowadays, many tourists are eager to visit them. Looking at this trend, one must analyse the merits and demerits of visiting such difficult places. There are many advantages to taking a trip to these problematic geographies. Firstly, the visitors acquire adventurous experiences as hardly anyone can accurately predict the kind of challenges one may face in these regions. As a result, one’s abilities and skills to overcome obstacles are validated. For example, one of my friends who visited Ladakh recently witnessed landslide on his way. Still, travelling through those hurdles made him realise his ability to drive well. Secondly, as one faces unforeseen practical problems, they are motivated to learn new skills in life, overall, improving their confidence in life. On the other hand, there is a downside to the arduous sojourns as well. Due to unknown weather conditions, unfamiliar territories, and limited resources, the travellers take unprecedented risks that can prove to be fatal. For illustration, according to the Indian Government, 25% of hikers who climb Mount Everest may lose their lives in the unliveable weather conditions and steep heights. Moreover, even if one survives the worst, many may get physical injuries and cannot continue the adventures further. Consequently, an individual may squander his or her health over an experience never lived. In the end, navigating places with difficult living conditions may help one to improve skills and confidence. At the same time, the risk-filled trips may turn out to be wastage of money and in worst case loss of life.