Fatherhood ought to be emphasized as much as motherhood. The idea that women are solely responsible to decide whether or not to have babies leads on to the idea that they are also responsible for bringing the children up.

In present-day society, notions such as motherhood or parenthood do not always correspond to marriage. Whilst it is natural for parents who are married to have children and raise them together, this is not the case with single parents, who, for a number of reasons, might be forced to face such responsibility on their own. On the one hand, in a traditional family where the two parents are present, they make mutual efforts in order to provide for their offspring, to educate and discipline them. Despite the fact that their roles differ, with the father being the more authoritative and bossy figure, who, as a rule, is the breadwinner of the family, and the mother taking care of the household, apart from the fact that she might go to work as well, their activities are equally to be emphasized. In such a way, little children learn better about role models and socialize better in the future. Even when the roles are reversed, responsibility falls on both the mother and father. On the other hand, children may grow up only with their mother or father since their parents got divorced, separated or just never married. How well single parents manage to bring up their girls and boys depends on their social status, income and strength of character. Obviously, in such a situation, family members have more difficult lessons to learn and the emphasis is either on motherhood or fatherhood just because the children live with a single parent. To conclude, I am convinced that a mother and father play a significant role in upbringing children. Emphasizing only of them is looking at the matter one-sidedly. After all, children need them both.