Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

The number of people visiting places with difficult conditions is increasing day by day. Of late, more people are keen on visiting such places for a different experience that comes along with the challenges they get to face. To begin with, it is the social media which is playing a major role in making people aware of a large number of tourist places that one would not have had much knowledgeable off unless they are related to the place and these areas would usually be famous in the first place for their specialties and challenges. So once awareness is created about the existence of an interesting destination, the curiosity to visit and explore the location develops. This instigates one to move out of their comfort zone and pay a visit. For example, a television channel researches and telecast about an island in a far off sea. The way of presentation and narration tends to catch the interest of the viewers who will plan a trip to the island as a weekend getaway. On the other hand, one problem that comes along with the thrill of exploring such less explored places is the unforeseen scenarios that one might get to face. In other words, the weather conditions might not fall in line with our prediction, the ground reality could be different from the attire and preparations we made. For instance, when we visit an island in the middle of the sea, we would have planned for a pleasant boat ride, calm waves, and a brightly shining sun. But due to an unforeseen change in the weather condition, there can be turbulences during the boat ride, waves could be harsh and the sky could get cloudy. In conclusion, while there is an increase in the tourist count to places with difficult conditions for the thrill and excitement it promises to give, it might not always be feasible due to unthought and unplanned circumstances.