Today, more and more children have mobile phones. Some people say that this is a negative change.

Mobile phones have radically altered the way that people work, socialize and entertain themselves, regardless of age. Apparently, the number of children who possess cell phones is increasing nowadays, and it is true that some people think that this change is disadvantageous. I disagree with the idea that having mobile phones has a negative impact on children. On the one hand, I believe that mobile devices are a useful tools that helps children to keep in touch easily with their parents or whoever can help them in case of emergency. In the case of any accidents, like a car crash, a phone can be the only immediate connection between parents or organization and children since public payphones are uneasy to find these days. Carrying a mobile phone with them, children can inform their parents or report to emergency staff about the urgent situation or if they are safe or not right away. This is why having mobile phones is helpful for children. Another reason why children having cell phones is advantageous is that children are more encouraged to seek answers by themselves. When they encounter any obstacles or problems on learning new skills or being curious of things around them, they can use applications on their phones to search any information. If children want to learn how to draw flowers or cats, for example, all they need to do is to use Google browser or Youtube to check on website or videos for tutorials. This instant help they obtain through cellphones makes children voluntarily to gain knowledge. On the other hand, there are people who stress that more children having mobile devices is a negative change as they believe that portable phones can be a distraction to academic performances. Many children bring their cell phones along with them to schools, and play games or chat with friends during breaks, or even in or during class. This results in children ignoring classes, failing important subjects, and being clueless about studies and examinations. However, one should bear in mind that phones can be restricted at class time or homework time. In conclusion, using mobile phones can be viewed as a distraction for children on their studies. However, looking deeper into what merits phones can bring to children – the ability to quickly communicate in emergency and the convenience of seeking information. I am of the strong opinion that mobile devices are beneficial to children.