Obesity levels are on the rise worldwide. Some people believe sedentary lifestyle is to blame for this, while others think unhealthy diets are the main sources of this negative development.

Obesity is now one of the increasingly serious health problems today's population is concerned about. This raised the question of which one is the main culprit: inactive lifestyle or unhealthy diet. I feel that it is the combination of both suggested reasons since they are interrelated. On the one hand, an increasing number of overweight people can be attributed to their sedentary lifestyle. This is mainly because, according to dieticians and health experts, even if people eat moderately, they are highly likely to gain weight over time – ending up overweight in some cases – unless they burn calories they are taking daily. Although this is an important argument to make, it does not mean all people chose to be physically inactive. Other factors causing people to be less physically active should also be considered: overwhelming office work, working from home overtime, and gaming. Understandably, when people have no other choice, and having an active way of living is physically impossible because of their work or addiction, obesity seems inevitable. This is shows that an inactive lifestyle is simply a result of these factors. In addition to people's sedentary lifestyle, unhealthy food products – fast foods are deteriorating the situation even more. Informed about the health-related side effects of junk foods and their ingredients, yet, being unable to cook healthy alternatives, and attracted to fast foods due to their scrumptious flavour, easy accessibility and cost effectiveness, people still keep consuming fast foods. This also clarifies why obesity levels are on the rise now. Besides, fast food industries are now using even stronger appetizers and additives to make their food products as much appealing and pleasing as possible so that people become addicted. In conclusion, there are some other underlying reasons behind these two unhealthy habits of people, and having no other choice for them could further explain this issue. I believe that people are, unsurprisingly, leading unhealthy lifestyles by neither exercising nor eating healthy food. Blaming one of these unhealthy habits for obesity is simply not logical enough, in my opinion.