Today, many people rely on the internet to diagnose and cure their own health problems instead of seeing a doctor. Why is this happening? Is it a positive or negative development?

In today's era there has been an increase in the number of people suffering from diseases. With the advent of medical sciences & drug discovery the diagnosis & treatment of the diseases become less difficult & more accurate. Also with the advancement of technology people can easily find the pathology, symptoms and the treatment of their health issues in the internet & many people often look for the remedies in different websites to treat their health problems instead of visiting to the doctors. However, this has been a negative trend & some reasons can be attributed for this kind of attitude of the people. In modern era, there are many sophisticated instruments present in hospitals & nursing homes to find out the root cause of a disease & potent medicines are readily available to cure it. But the treatment costs are very much exorbitant. Even doctors today recommend pathological tests for very minor issues & prescribe lots of medicines & the expenses become considerably larger which many families can't afford. In addition to this, most people in our society are reluctant to visit doctors & consume medicines until their problems get more critical & spend money on health insurances because insurance companies demand a huge value to be deposited yearly for a period of longer time. Due to this reasons, many people seek remedies from internet & try to avoid consulting doctors in order to save money. Though sometimes there are some treatment methods available in internet for many common health problems like common cold. cough, fever which can be treated without consulting doctors, it is unwise to indulge in this practice of relying upon internet on treating all health disorders. For instance, if a patient suffers from chest pain, he should be removed to the hospital immediately to undergo different pathological tests to detect the cause of his pain because sometimes unprecedented chest pain leads to heart attack & patient may die out of it and in order to avoid the fatality one should seek urgent medical assistance. Moreover, in many websites, some incorrect treatment methods are provided that can be highly misleading & one may fall into serious trouble after following those methods instead of getting cured. Thus one should not completely trust the information given in the websites. To recapitulate, I should say that we may seek help from the internet for trivial health issues like seasonal cold, milder stomach pain etc but we must consult the physicians for complicated health disorders in order to remain fit & healthy & avoid premature demise.