Some people think students should only study subjects which have use in future. Others believe that students should study whatever they like.

Nowadays, apart from the prestige of the university, the application and the scope of the course holds vital importance for students and other prospective graduates. As a result, some people place a lot of emphasis on the subjects and believe that students should only take major options like science and technology which will have utility in the future. However, others believe that education is beneficial only when a student gets the opportunity to study subjects of his or her own choice. Both views have their own merits and demerits which must be taken into consideration. While fields like science, mathematics and finance might not suit the interests of a student, these fields can provide numerous opportunities in form of self employment, wage employment and entrepreneurship. For example, since 2010, there has been a massive 53% increase in job positions in the STEM fields. Unfortunately, other fields like psychology and gender studies continue to lag behind in terms of living standards and skill development of students. Although fields like science and technology provide a wider scope of research and learning, these fields require utmost dedication. Such kind of dedication and commitment can't be present with the existence of passion and interest for these fields. As a result, these fields can have an adverse impact on the health and the thought process of an individual who tries to gain prominence in these fields despite not having any attachment to these subjects. Talking about employment, there have been various successful entrepreneurs and role models who have showcased that it's possible to create monetizing opportunities and generate income from not so popular fields as long as one is creative and innovative with their approach. For example, people passionate for sports have been able to gain access to opportunities like data science and sport management. Therefore, I believe that one should pursue subjects which cater to their objectives and aspirations. It's critical to realize that knowledge always triumphs immediate intrinsic returns.