Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it a positive or a negative development?

Advancement in the field of information technology has reached to a level where everyone around the globe is accessing it vastly, especially the children. It is commonly observed that children these days invest more time playing games on computer rather than indulging into sports. This has adverse effects on them which implies it to be a negative development. To begin with, spending excessive time in front of the screen has deteriorated the health and relationships of children in several ways. Children who spend more time playing computer games tend to develop a sedentary lifestyle which makes them obese at a very young age. For instance, a recent survey at Harvard University revealed that school children who opted for computer subjects were unhealthy as compared to the ones who chose sports as their extra curricular activity. Moreover, children spending more time on screen lose the opportunity of making new friends which stops them from building new relationships within society. Furthermore, playing video games on computer becomes more of an addiction for some children which deviates them from studying and therefore their academic performance gets disturbed. As a consequence of this, they lack at building a successful future and at the same time do not contribute to the society in any form. In addition to this, children lacking outdoor connections and an active lifestyle more likely turn out to be the introverts that acts as a barrier in enhancing their communication skills at a learning age. To conclude, the effects of children spending more time playing computer games deteriorates their growth on a personal level which in turn is harmful for the development of a society which demands an active and intellectual future generation. Therefore, all these factors proves this to be a negative development.