Today, in most parts of the world, people are living longer. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Living longer has long been viewed as the natural wish of most people and thanks to medical breakthroughs, the average life expectancy of people is rising day by day. While I accept that this tendency may sometimes have a negative effect on our society, I do believe that the benefits do outweigh the drawbacks. It is generally believed that the rising lifespan may lead to an alarming situation called the aging population. This severe problem poses enormous pressure on the nations’ workforce because of the shortage of youth. Take Japan as a typical example to illustrate this point, it seems that this government has to seek resources of employees from some developing countries. Besides, when people’s lifetime is longer, the authorities also get into trouble with financial burdens. The national budgets have to be invested heavily in pensions, social welfare, and the healthcare system for old people. Hence, some people think that greying population takes a negative impact on society. In spite of the drawbacks mentioned above, I do believe that this trend brings numerous benefits to both old people themselves and the community. Firstly, people living longer can have more time to enjoy their own lives and pursue their interests. This means that they are able to get chances to do what they want and compensate for many years of hard work by traveling, getting involved in social activities, and spending time with their family. Moreover, the old also devote to maintaining the beauty of traditions and cultures in their community. It is obvious that the seniors get deeper insights into the cultural identity of their regions; thanks to them, the valuable knowledge is always handed down through generations. Therefore, I convinced myself that a long lifespan is a fundamental and advantageous wish among people. In conclusion, it seems to me that we gain more than we lose when the world has many seniors.