Today, high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

It is a fact that manufacturing companies spend a huge amount of money in order to advertise their products.  Although many people believe that consumers purchase various products because of the influence of advertisements,  some others argue against it.  This essay will discuss both arguments. Today’s advertisements are strong enough to attract any kind of people.  Most of the advertisements are over exaggerated representation of the real product.  Vulnerable people often fell in this trap and purchase low quality materials unnecessarily.  Moreover,  advertisements sometimes target certain age groups,  such as schoolchildren and adolescents.  In order to attract such immature population,  advertising companies make use of prominent singers or actors. Since adolescents have a tendency to imitate their favorite icons,  they purchase the product.  Apart from this,  many people grab the newly launched products in order to increase their pride in the society.  On the other hand,  many people purchase products by watching the advertisement,  if they are likely to improve their lifestyle.  For instance,  if a busy person comes to see an advertisement about a new time saving home appliance,  he or she is more likely to purchase that item.  In addition,  if the product is good in quality and really meats the expectation of the buyer,  it will get mouth publicity.  This will surely improve the sales of the particular product.  Furthermore,  there are many people who are keen on advanced technologies.  Such people often buy latest products by thinking that they simplify their life. To conclude,  I think advertisement play an important role in improving the sales of a product.  Despite the fact that advertisements are not real,  an increasing number of people still fall in their trap.