: Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

It has been published in a recent article that global warming has reached a critical level and one of the main reasons for the increase in earths temperature is the exponential rise in waste production leading to pollution. There was a direct corelation between the volume of by-produce & the rise in pollution affecting climate. It is imperative to understand the impact of waste control measures if we have to protect the earth from future calamities. To understand why there has been an increase in this pollution, we have to look at the growth rate of industrialisation that has occurred in the past decade. According to a latest survey, the number of manufacturing facilities in the city of Dubai has increased by 20% on an average every year in the last 10 years. This increase has put a lot of pressure on the garbage disposal mechanism which unfortunately has not kept pace with the rising rate of industries. We have also seen a population explosion corresponding to the industrial boom which puts additional pressure for waste disposal. To address this problem, firstly, it is necessary for the governments to initiate appropriate legislations & ensure new companies abide by waste management rules. Secondly, the authorities should also provision for recycle bins to be available in public places. Consideration should also be given to incentivise the population to recycle rubbish either by discounts on taxes or through points based value schemes that can make users eligible for rewards. Lastly, a carrot-and-stick approach needs to be implemented for companies for increasing recycle measures in areas of production.