It is suggested that primary school children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people are of the opinion that elementary school students should learn to grow vegetables and keep animals. I believe this is an essential life skill that one should possess. The advantages of teaching this to children outweigh the disadvantages that it may cause. When children learn gardening and grow vegetables, it helps them develop self-discipline as they need to put in efforts to plant and tend to the vegetables. It also provides a sense of accomplishment when they see the fruits of their efforts and the translation of hard work into useful results. They also develop self-pride as it proves to them that they are capable of succeeding in something they do. Participating in gardening also facilitates their interaction with nature. Together, these shape their personality positively. This practice also teaches them to be self-reliant such that they can provide for themselves in the future during dire circumstances. Furthermore, research has shown that children that learn gardening and farming are more sensitive to environmental issues and are more prone to support eco-friendly initiatives. Having young kids keep animals and care for them is an excellent way to imbibe in them a strong awareness to responsibility early in life. It becomes their duty to nurture and care for the pets and form a bond with them. Today’s society is becoming more and more individualistic. People have little time for each other and quite often end up feeling lonely. The same is true for children who might feel neglected by their parents. The relationship a child shares with their animals becomes especially important during such times. Furthermore, the child develops empathy and a feeling of belonging while caring for animals. For instance, many youngsters living away from their family find solace in staying with a pet such as a dog or cat and have reported feeling less lonely when they know they have someone to come to at home from work. Teaching these skills for caring for animals early in life makes it easier for children in the future. Some might even consider a career in animal husbandry. In conclusion, while some people believe that teaching kids to grow vegetables and care for animals is unnecessary, I believe it is a very practical skill that people should have.