Today, a lot of big cities suffer from contamination particularly air pollution.

Today, a lot of big cities suffer from contamination particularly air pollution. It causes by various combination of reasons but the key role plays exhaust fumes. This essay will explain this issue and give a possible solution. To begin with that, contamination is a crucial problem of our time. Due to the fact that vehicles became more available so now, almost everyone owns at least one car. Consequently, it leads to various issues with ecology such as road traffic emissions from petrol or diesel engines, which are hazardous to the environment since it leads with increasing of carbon monoxide and nitrogen oxides in the air. Furthermore, greenhouse gases in the atmosphere directly affect the global warming process. For instance, some researches indicate that in the recent decade the whole planet temperature increased to 1 °C in comparison with 19 century. However, all is not lost and people concerned with protecting the environment say that humanity can be able to prevent environmental degradation. Firstly, the government must limit the number of cars on the road by establishing petrol taxes because in big cities where is a developed transport system people continuing preferring car even though they have alternatives. Moreover, setting up traffic-free zones in city centres also represented as an appropriate solution. Many European countries can be used as proof where locals have areas, which promote walking and cycling instead of public or private transportation. Afterwards, it brings to the reduction of using fossil fuels and amount of polluted precipitation. To sum up, deteriorating of surrounding condition particularly caused by air pollution with motor vehicle emissions and CO2 gases. To stop this problem authorities should take measures by way of levying taxes and creating free-car zones.