Tobacco should be treated as illegal like other drugs. Smoking has not a single positive issue but lots of negative effects and therefore, it should be banned.

Tobacco smoking is injurious to health”. Each and everyone knows this fact but a large proportion of society is engaged in tobacco smoking despite repeated warnings. Tobacco smoking leads to various health hazards and hence needs to be banned. Initially, as other dangerous drugs are already made illegal, there is a dire need to ban tobacco smoking as well. Tobacco contains a harmful substance known as nicotine which has an adverse effect on the human body. It is one of the major causes of tongue cancer, lip cancer and lung cancer. Earlier, it was more popular in the countryside but nowadays the youngsters in urban areas are also getting attracted to tobacco. Moreover, it is not only the smokers who are affected; the people in their vicinity are also adversely affected. This passive smoking has more adverse effects on the people nearby who are not smoking. Some of them even do not know that they are adversely affected. Despite various measures taken by governments to discourage tobacco smoking, there is no considerable improvement in the situation. Although smoking is banned in public places and punishments and fines are imposed on defaulters, yet there is no marked progress in stopping this activity. In a nutshell, as tobacco smoking has various ill effects on the smoker and the people around him, it must be made illegal, and strict actions must be taken if someone breaks the law.