To what extent is current animal testing essential for the treatment of patients who are suffering from cancer?

Animal testing is one of the most worldwide scientific methods of an experiment to find cancer treatment for patients by investigating different kinds of drugs. An understanding of the underlying processes underpinning malignancy and discovering better strategies for cancer prevention, diagnosis and treatment can be achieved through high requirements of animal care for high-quality cancer studies (Workman et al. , 2010). Due to the fact that approximately 1 in 6 deaths caused by cancer, this kind of disease is considered to be the second leading reason for worldwide death (WHO, 2018). Due to the genomic, proteomic and metabolic profiles along with their organic mechanism and behavior, mice and rats remain the most suitable laboratory animals (Garattini & Grignaschi, 2017). However, 85% of preclinical studies for new drugs tested on animals fail (Ledford, 2011 as cited in Mak et al. , 2014). Even though the main reasons for these failures are logistical and research design problems, this occurs because of molecular mechanisms (exploration by genetic and biochemical testing) of the investigational drugs (Thomas, 2012 as cited in Mak et al. , 2014). Consequently, this research will focus on addressing the achievements and failures of animal testing against cancer in recent investigations. Firstly, the paper will consider whether cancer treatment for animals is suitable for humans. Secondly, testing a large number of various medical drugs on animals will be discussed. Finally, there will be a focus on comparing the benefits and drawbacks of animal testing experiments worldwide. Moreover, if the advantages outweigh the disadvantages, this research paper will address alternatives to using animals. The findings of this essay analyze the effectiveness of animal testing contribution by using different research results regarding recent investigations in cancer treatments than other methods of experiments in developed countries. Despite some similarities between animals and humans, usage of animals in preclinical trials, it will be argued that animal testing is not the optimum way of finding cancer treatments. Its use is not justified owing to ethical considerations, non-compliance of animal welfare, a huge amount of drug failures and reliability issues.