To what extent does social media affect relationships among people

It is argued that social media plays a crucial role in modern life nowadays. In my opinion, social media could have both positive and negative aspects in equal measure because of the benefits and drawbacks which have been brought to human life. Firstly, social media has the potential to diminish family life, however, taking advantage of social networking features could make people enhance it. If parents are addicted to social media, they would tend to neglect their children. Despite this, using social media to stay in touch with family is a good way when studying abroad. To clarify, phone calls are extremely expensive but social media are nearly free. Similarly, social media can keep people distant from their friends, nevertheless, it can also connect them in several other ways. For example, shy teens who surf networks will lose social skills and real friends. Nevertheless, social media could help patients keep in touch with friends when stuckstudying at home with injury or sickness. In addition, social networking sites can support people for making new friends who have the same interest. Last but not least, social networks may distract people from work, but there are other benefits. Overusing social media to check newsfeed on Facebook or Instagram, for instance, can lead to people losing time for meeting and team working. On the other hand, instant messaging and work meeting on social media apps are often cheap and time-saving in comparison with organizing face-to-face meetings. In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I am of the opinion that social media has both positive and negative impacts. If people use social media appropriately, it will create more togetherness.