To what extent children should be allowed to make own decisions on everyday matters.

To what extent children should be allowed to make own decisions on everyday essentials such as food, clothes and entertainment is a heated topic nowadays. I hold the opinion that allowing children to make their own decisions all the time can also put the child's life at risk. Parents should regularly keep themselves updated on their child's life as to make sure the child is not leading on any wrong path. According to the society, certainly, giving liberty to make big decisions of one's own life can possibly lead the children to being self-centered and to think of their desires only while ignoring all the other things. At the other hand, some people think that the children should make their own decisions because it helps them to be more practical in pursuing their goals. A major drawback of this situation is that children also start to believe that making their own decisions on a daily basis will help them do whatever they want without any elderly interference. This makes one an egocentric individual and the same affects the society where other children also start demanding their freedom at a very young age and this goes on mounting for the rest of their lives. I also think parents should try to understand their children and be very aware as to how their kids are doing and feeling. They should be more acceptable of their children and vice versa. However, children have unique strengths and interests. Therefore, parents should understand and give time to their child. This way a child can put forward his opinions and also learn to honour others decisions and can know what exactly he is supposed t do. Contrarily, children who make their own decisions can spontaneously develop a sense of maturity. In closing, parents and children, both, should come on a mutual agreement on what is best for the child.