Argue for or against the following statement: Having unlimited access to information on the internet is a positive thing for people. (Note: you must choose a side)

Moving towards a multitude of revolutionary breakthroughs in technology like 5G and advanced artificial intelligence, information has become more widespread than ever before. A child with access to the Internet could possibly be one of the most well-informed living beings on the planet. One can easily visualise the monumental power that can be acquired simply by having access to information. With that in mind, it is hard to imagine a hypothetical world where the free dissemination of all information is legalised. The sheer economical damage and the privacy concerns that will inevitably come around as a result stretches far beyond what humanity can handle. To start off, a very simple rivalry to take into account for this argument is the everlasting war between Pepsi and Coca-Cola. Their company secrets, their marketing strategies, their fomulae are all unique to their individual organisations and is not something that the public and especially the rivalling company should be meddling with. These two companies would nullify each other, making it completely meaningless to run simultaneously. With unlimited access to information, there would not be a need for these services to co-exist and eventually they would all collapse into a complete mess without appropriate intervention. There would no longer be any diversity between the services made available to us since all information is now completely exposed to the general public. Everything would then be condensed into a single entity that governs over our life since there would no longer be a need for multiple of the same service to co-exist in such a world. On an individual level, it is easy to say that the mentioned impacts are not of concern but in fact, most people will become unemployed. There will be only be a need for scientists who discover new information and engineers who will be utilising these new information on enhancing our lifestyles. It is quite safe to say that economically, the world will start to collapse and as an individual living in this world, you will soon follow. Another substantial point to bring to the table is privacy and security. The reason that so many of us have passwords or locks on our different social media accounts is to protect what we believe is personal information that we can control. The level of exposure of these information is something we get to fully manipulate. All of a sudden, society has made all information available to everyone and everything you wish to be your own is fully exposed to the rest of the world. The enormous impact this notion would have on every single person is unimaginable. Your bank account, your address, your meals that you post on social media are all over the Internet and can be accessed by anyone whenever they want. That is a terrifying thought and nobody would want to live in such a world. Furthermore, new forms of cyber crime an corruption will come into being and it is more dangerous than everything we have experienced in recorded history. If hackers find a way to make themselves anonymous in this world, or if governments make themselves invisible to the general public to spy on our lives, everyone would be beyond miserable. If unlimited access to information becomes available, we will never be able to experience privacy, or to put it simply, we will never be able to live our own lives. To bring this argument to a close, this essay has brought forth two out of the many detrimental effects that the free spread of information would have on our society. It is clear that the world would not be able to function as it is now and we must adapt to a horrible reality as elaborated above. There is not much to be said, the notion can be tempting at first but the drawback is not something humanity will ever be ready for