The Struggle and Opportunity of Migrated

At the present, individuals from a minority or undeveloped country desire to work in a country where is providing higher employment opportunities and income. Canada, Australia, and American are the most famous destinations where people decide to move in because of lack of employment such as an educator or labor. Immigration to another country is a significant key for them to seek the opportunity compared to their home country. The situation occurs likely in Southeast Asia which has enormous inequality and chance. Thus, in this essay, I will examine what makes migration such an extremely important culture of Southeast Asia and what does immigrant people have to encounter. Immigrating to another country is a sound quite common in Southeast Asia. Moving from their hometown to an unfamiliar country is the toughest thing for people. There are many reasons why people migrate. For example, economic and social migration are the particular types of migration that we can see, which encourages people to find their career path or better quality of life. Another example is political migration which is to escape from a political issue or persecution. All immigrating or migrating people desire to seek a better salary and opportunity of living. Southeast Asia countries pay a lower rate of money and employment for the employees, especially wage workers, compared to developing countries. The expansion was caused by the significantly growing economy but decreasing fertility rate of manufactured economies. According to Amurao (n. d. ), Thailand is acknowledged as a destination for immigration, but at the same time, it is also considered as a country of emigration. Thailand’s construction is similar to other countries such as Burmese, Cambodian, Laotian, or Bangladeshi workers in terms of agriculture and culture, but paying more money. Thus, those works mostly decided to immigrate to Thailand where it has similar cultures and is close to their home countries which are easily to move in and out. Thai regarded as labor exporter that shifts their citizens to Taiwan, Malaysia, Singapore, and Japan because currently, Thai have begun to avoid 3D tasks which are dirty, dangerous, and difficult (Amurao, n. d. ). Besides, many women were a victim of the sex industry or human trafficking. For instance, In the video about the migration of a Philippines teacher named Charmaine Teodoro moving herself to an unfamiliar place, in the state of Colorado, working as a teacher showcases both benefits and hardships she has to experience as an immigrant coming over from the other side of the world. At the beginning of the video, Charmaine shows a sense of disappointment from the lines she explains about the facilities available within the town she is living in. As a foreigner, she claims that the United States in her vision is totally different from what she thinks would be compared to the reality she is facing at hand. However, the current position she is filling for at the local school is not entirely let down as she thought it would. She first explains that teaching students in the United States is much more challenging than what she thought it would be, as students are tried to test the limits of their teacher in order to pay their respect towards them which may be an act of slight discrimination toward Asia people. Moreover, teaching is not the only thing that makes her uncomfortable as she profoundly says that the worst time of the year is either her own birthday or the new year celebration as there is no one who could celebrate it with her compared to what she previously experienced back in her hometown. This is related to a sense of cultural identity’s which has important elements are religion, language, and food. These elements help a person to feel a connection with their home country while they are living in another country (Bhugra, n. d. ). Charmaine felt a sense of losing their cultural identity because of the environment that she lives. The result of balancing two cultures while adapting to the predominating one is called acculturation. It affects an immigrate in terms of reducing self-esteem, culture shock, and mental health. Luckily there is one thing she does in order to avoid homesickness which is cooking herself a familiar meal, as it is the only thing that connects her to her home, which is a way that she used to tackle with a miss of hometown. Despite all the hardships and struggles she has to overcome she still wants to prolong her stay working as a high school math teacher as she believes that it is once a lifetime opportunity for her, and she wants to learn more as long as she can. Lastly, she believes that moving is an appropriate choice that she made. Moving to a country where it enhances an individual’s chance of career path and future opportunities. To conclude, migrated individual is a crucial role in the way our society adapts accordingly to another country, especially dominated country. It opens countless opportunities for those who seek opportunity in life with the limitation in their mobility. However, the price that one needs to pay is the losing of cultural identity feeling of exclusion from their environment as they have to put themselves into unfamiliar places. Although migration sounds like a negative outcome where one has to sacrifice their cultural identity it’s still profoundly important for SouthEast Asians to participate in the vision of immigration.