to succeed in a business one needs to know mathematics. Agree/disagree.

It is commonly believed that proficiency in mathematics is required to achieve success in one’s profession. However, that may be true to some extent, but I believe that many significant skills are also essential to thrive in the business world. Today, businesses are growing rapidly and with the advancement in technology and science, mathematics is not the only trait that is required to flourish in one’s venture. Many other essential skills such as leadership, decision making, launching new products, critical thinking is also vital. Moreover, specialists can be hired to handle the financial aspect of the business so the businessman can focus on more important issues at hand. Also, calculations and computation of figures is not everyone’s forte and this should not discourage anyone to pursue one’s interest in opening and running their business. Nevertheless, the importance of mathematics cannot be ignored in running day-to-day operations in the line of work. Basic arithmetic skill is required figure out the cost and expenditure of the product. For example, the owner of the business needs to know the price at which the goods will be sold to the consumer which is feasible to the buyer and is also profitable to the seller, so the business runs smoothly. Furthermore, it is good to have some understanding of the subject to comfortably study the financial reports, profit and loss statements of the business to know where they stand financially. To sum up, mathematics is of pivotal importance for a business to prosper. Also, I do not think that the owner needs to be adept at numerical skill and it would be advisable to delegate the financial work to experts in calculations so the owner has time for strategic work.