“To learn a foreign language is to have one more window from which to look at the world”. Traditionally, c

“To learn a foreign language is to have one more window from which to look at the world”. Traditionally, children have begun studying foreign languages at their secondary school. Some experts believe that introducing them earlier is recommended, with both negative and positive outcomes. Firstly, learning a foreign language is helpful for the growth of a child’s brain. A study by United Nations has proved that learning any language other than the native one activates various new parts of the brain that were never used previously. As a result, it increases the grasping and learning-power of a child. Not only this, but it also accelerates the working of one’s brain. Therefore, making kids learn a new language at an early age will help them in their mental growth. Thus, teaching international languages to young children is a major step towards their bright future. There are, however, some disadvantages. Primary school teachers may not have the necessary language skills or they are not well-trained for that particular language. Therefore, primary language teaching needs to be standardized. Another disadvantage of adding a new language to the primary school, curriculum is that it puts an extra burden on children. Children already have a lot of subjects to learn and a new language can make the syllabus even heavier. To summarize, I strongly believe that, educating children to be multilingual from an early age promotes better language skills and a higher IQ in them. However, it might put few surplus loads on beginners, which is acceptable because of immense future-benefits