Is there really gender equality?

Al through history there has been a common debate regarding “whether or not we have equality”. As humans we have a tendency of going towards equality, even though there is a myriad number of differences between us. However, under this especial social circumstances there are two types of equality, formal and substantive and the answer of the question is mainly subjective regardings ones opinions and views on the subject and the type of equality. We live in a society that has lead us to believe that women and men are treated equal, and as that might be true. I strongly disagree with that idea and this is because of a number of reasons, starting by the viewing and stereotypes of these two genders (male and female) there is a big gap in between how these two are viewed under the common persepetion men are view as the “stronger” gender in most of the categories such as intelligence, physical strength, capabilities in between many other, while, females are typicaly seen as the “weaker” gender, especially on the previously mention categories. And this has been one of the main arguments used to oppress women in different aspects of their every day life, such as studying, working, voting as they are denied in various circumstances of participating in these activities as it is belived “A women’s place is in the kitchen” or “A women is not able to do the same work as a men because they are unable to comprehante such an elaborate concepts” or “women are just for birthing children” and this ones are just the tip of the iceberg, this misconceptions lead people into the discrimination and abuse of women, which lead us into the next reason, as women are seen as weak it produces a behaviour in some men of thinking that they can do as they please with them because of his superiority, resulting in the murdering and raping of a big number of women all around the world, third but certenatlly not least opportunities, following these steryotypes many women are limited from opportunities just because of their gender, an example of this could be the gender wage gap, on the world is not uncommon to see females paid less for doing the same jobs as their male collagues, this difference is mainly produce by the opportunities or chances that she has at succeeding, many times they are denied of the opportunity because of the “fear” that she might have kids or that she is not capable enough or suited for a leading position. However if we see equality as a formal concept then there are some strong arguments that state how there is equality now a days, and example of this could be on the basic human rights as no gender is excluded or denied of any right, stating that both men an women are equal under their eye, and the same goes with national laws or at least in Colombia it is staple that under the eye of the law and the justice system they must be seen as equal individuals, also women already have the opportunity to vote or study that were one of the most strong forms of inequality. Answering completely the question of wheather or not there Is gender equality in nowdays society is really hard as of it might be a really subjective question what we can do incude is that we as a society have moved a long way regarding equality but we still have a lot of work to do in almost all aspect to trully achive or get any closer to said equality.