to feed their population themselves and import as little as possible.

Many individuals argue that it is better if the food needed to feed the local inhabitants of each country is produced by themselves instead of importing from other regions. I totally agree with these people since it generates job opportunities and the products can be less expensive for the final consumers. The main reason why I believe countries should produce the food they need is that the unemployment rate would drop significantly. Although some people think that not every country has the men-force to produce their own food, in my opinion with the right training and technology nothing is impossible. To produce the food, many farms would have to be created and processing and distribution industries would have an increased demand for workers. Consequently, thousands of job opportunities would be generated for the locals. To illustrate, Brazil does not import large quantities of coffee from other countries and this industry employs an immense amount of Brazilians. Another reason why importing food from other parts of the world is not very advantageous is that it end up costing a fortune. Although I concede that having products from other countries available at local shops is great since there is more diversity of options, the amount of money they cost is not worth it. These goods have to travel unimaginable distances overseas which is extremely expensive and takes a lot of time. Besides that, there are the importation fees which are attached to the final price people pay at their local grocery store without even knowing about it. In conclusion, I reaffirm my opinion that each country should try to produce the food to feed their own population since it can create thousands of new work opportunities for their inhabitants and would considerably lower the price of many products.