To be labelled a 'Work of Art', a painting, sculpture or other art form should display certain qualities that are unique. However, over the past century there has been a decline in the quality of prize-winning artwork and it is now possible for quite ordinary pieces of art to be labelled 'masterpieces' whilst true works of art pass unnoticed. Give reasons for your answer

Art such as painting, sculpture and other form of arts should be distinct to be called “Work of Art”. On the other side, quality of the prize winning artwork has been reduced over the past years and average art pieces can be now labelled as ‘masterpieces’. Thus, the real kind of art receives less attention. I totally disagree that the regular piece of art has a low quality to be called ‘masterpiece’ and rare kind of art are left unseen. Masterpiece means a work done by someone with an individual’s extraordinary skills. Once an individual exerted effort, time and gives the best work he can do, then that is already a work of wonder. There is no regular piece of an art. However, people had their own criteria, their own qualities of what they called masterpiece, it depends with how an individual see and perceives a particular art work. For example, there are pieces of art that was painted simply that other people think that anyone could draw it but for others it is already a work of wonders, where other people see something special to it. It could be the style, the color blends and how it was presented. Therefore, there is no such as a regular kind of art. One other reason for an art to be called a ‘masterpiece’ is the story behind it. Many paintings are drawn simply nevertheless, it became famous and valuable. For an instance, the painting of Leonardo de Vinci which is the famous MonaLisa. There are many controversies about the painting, questioning how it became a masterpiece when it was just a painting of a simple woman. Nonetheless, the history of it makes it more valuable and so called a masterpiece. In conclusion, every art can be a masterpiece, depending on how an individual perceives it. The beauty, the effort and the story makes the art a wonder.