To be labelled a ‘Work of Art’, a painting, sculpture or other art form should display certain qualities that are unique. However, over the past century there has been a decline in the quality of prize-winning artwork and it is now possible for quite ordinary pieces of art to be labelled ‘masterpieces ’ whilst true works of art pass unnoticed.

A ‘Work of Art’ is a label tagged on paintings, sculptures or other artwork that displays unique properties. However, due to a drop in the quality of prizewinning art, normal pieces of art are labelled ‘masterpieces’ while true art is left buried. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons why I agree with this statement. Firstly, a change in the taste of people towards artwork can be observed. Recently, abstract arts have become a favourable form of arts for many people. The more abstract the drawings are, the more it is regarded as a good piece of art. Hence, drawings created that are simpler and the simplicity of drawings seems to make them similar to one another. As most drawings are similar, this also changes the standard of masterpieces and therefore, lowers the quality of art that is considered as a ‘masterpiece’. In addition, the fame of certain artists redefines the term ‘masterpiece’. For example, Gucci and Louis Vuitton, are well-known brands that have their products sold at a ridiculously high price and this gradually has become a symbol of being rich. However, thinking deeply, the functions of their bags are actually the same as those that you can have for only £10 inner-city market. The only difference between them is actually just the brand name. This is just the same with art-if the person who has drawn a very normal piece of art is a famous artist, it will then be qualified as a masterpiece, due to the fame if the artist. Therefore, even very normal artwork can be rewarded with our prize, which is the reason why the quality of prizewinning art has declined. In conclusion, a change in the taste of art amongst people nowadays and the fame of artists can be possible reasons leading to the decline of the quality of masterpieces, . Not only because they redefine what we know about a masterpiece over the years, but because they also change the taste of people towards art. Therefore, for these two reasons, I strongly agree that a drop in the quality of ‘masterpieces’ has caused the death of true artwork.