This is too much emphasis on winning in sport today

Sport has always been a popular hobby among people. We play sports, bet on sport, cheer up our favorite athlete, hold festivals. But for some people sport means only an opportunity to find out who is the fastest, the bravest, the strongest. Professional athletes past and present are starting to speak up about a reality that some coaches, doctors, and sports associations have ignored or even intentionally covered up: it’s a culture singularly focused upon winning at all costs, a culture that sometimes disregards the mental and physical health of athletes. The first thing that needs to be said is that concentration only on winning enables sportsmen to enjoy the process and make it harder. When you all the time under great pressure of expectations, your emotional and physical resources are being depleted. Furthermore, the desire to be the best makes some people break the rule, use prohibited substances and even hurt their rivals. On the other hand, sport should be competitive because it stimulates athletes to better train, encourages them to show their best. Besides professional sport is an industry where a lot of people pay for spectacle and emotions, and if friendship always wins it will get boring and kill the idea of big sports events. To sum up, athletes need to find a balance between the aim to get to the top and a reasonable assessment of their capabilities. And sport should be more about a healthy lifestyle, not a championship title.