This is a true story told by a British-South African environmental activist, Lewis Pugh.

Lewis Pugh is a British-South African environmentalist who works hard to protect the oceans of the world. One way he does this is by swimming! He goes on difficult swims in different parts of the world. People from various countries read about Lewis Pugh and watch him swim. Pugh swam at the North Pole to warn people that some of the Arctic Sea ice was disappearing. Another time he swam in a lake on Mount Everest to warn the governments about the effect of climate change in the Himalayas. This is what Lewis Pugh says: ‘Ocean water covers 70% of the earth. But human behaviour is having negative effects on the oceans. Ocean water is becoming dirty and polluted. Many kinds of fish and sea animals are dying off. The Ross Sea in Antarctica is different, it’s completely free of pollution. It contains many different animals and fish such as the Antarctic Toothfish, the Colossal Squid* and the Emperor Penguin. Many of these animals and fish cannot be found anywhere else on the planet. I want to gain global support for the Ross Sea so that it becomes a Protected Area. Because of that I decided to go on five symbolic swims in Antarctica. My first Antarctic swim was near Campbell Island in New Zealand. I started to swim in the freezing water. But after 200 metres, a sea lion attacked me.