This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of homework.

Nowaday, homework is becoming a noticeale problem for children. Most of teachers and parents support that homework assists children in improving learning process. However, others oppose this view and claim that homework makes children pressured and boring. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of homework. It can be said that homework has some noteworthy positive effects. Firstly, homework helps students to have time to practice theoretical knowledge learned in class. It is able to firmly grasp a certain knowledge, it is necessary to do it over and over again. Especially for difficult knowledge, practice becomes even more important. Seconly, homework teaches children to be independent, to take initiative and responsibility for completing a task, and it helps children to develop a sense of self-discipline. Doing school work at home helps the children to practice working alone without asking for help from their classmates and teachers. However, homework isn’t completely benefits, there are several negative aspects that should be taken into consideration. The serious disadvantage of homework that is pointless busy work can lead to a negative impression of a subject. This makes the children more bored with learning. An addition disadvantage of homework would be exercise overload. It makes children increase stressed. The combination of heavy homework loads and early school start times is a major cause of sleep deprivation and consequent stress for children. In conclusion, there are plus points to homework regarding to practice learning skills and self- discipline. However, the downside would emerge consequently in terms of increasing stressed and boring. Therefore, teachers should reconsider the amount of homework to be reasonable.