Think of any bureaucracy with which you have had some experiences. Describe evidence that it was characterized by any three of the defining characteristics of bureaucracies.

This essay will be looking at the definition of bureaucracy and its characteristics as well as giving an institution of which I have had some experiences. The definition of bureaucracy is as a formal organization with certain organizational features designed to achieve goals in the most efficient way possible. Additionally, Bureaucracy as an ideal type and form of power based on legitimate authority Max Weber was a German social scientist (1864-1920) who was concerned with the question of what held societies together. It is characterized by several features that together maximize the efficiency and effectiveness of organizational decision making and goal accomplishment: Specialization (a division of labor in which specific people have certain tasks to do), Hierarchy (The chain of command runs from the top to the bottom), Written rules and regulations (This written communication leaves a paper trail so that accountability for individual behavior can later be determined), Impartiality and impersonality (Weber thought that impartiality in hiring, promotion, and firing would be much better for a large organization, as it guarantees people will advance through a firm based on their skills and knowledge, not on whom they know. ) and finally is record keeping (any large organization must have much more extensive record keeping to keep track of everything). A bureaucracy that I have experienced is the EIU COVID-19 prevention team that I participated in when I was a volunteer in Thoi Hoa hospital, which is the number 1 field hospital during the spread of COVID-19. I reckon that it has enough features to be seen as a bureaucracy due to many reasons. The first key feature of the organization is specialization, which I mean by this is that during the anti-epidemic period in Thoi Hoa hospital, each person is assigned to specific tasks such as data entry, testing samples, code input, etc. Members in the team came from different majors of Eastern International University including business, nursing and engineering. Therefore, those who major in business and engineering are best suited to do tasks like data entry and code input, while those who are studying nursing are well-educated in testing samples. By doing that, the team could maximize the ability of the organization to have tasks completed. The second feature of this team of bureaucracy is hierarchy. This is due to the fact that being a medical staff of Thoi Hoa hospital means volunteers had to be life-threatening, because 100% of patients are F0. Therefore, having a hierarchical structure helps maximize efficiency and reduces decision-making time, especially, the leaders of the team (Mr. Tuan and Mr. Kim) have always given instructions and decisions to ensure the safety and health of any members. The final characteristic of this is written rules and regulations. Working in a hospital which is to cure COVID-19 patients is a very dangerous work as medical staff could be potentially infected anytime, therefore, rules and regulations must be applied to ensure the safety of the staff. For instance, the process of equipping and undressing personal protective clothes for COVID is extremely paramount and staff have to learn by heart how to do that. If the members of the team had done it wrongly, it would have increased the spread of Coronavirus to others. All of the rules and regulations were written down and must be followed. Taking everything into consideration, it reinforces my belief that the EIU COVID-19 prevention team could be seen as bureaucracy due to its characteristics as specialization, hierarchy and written rules and regulations. Due to those characteristics, it helped the team to maximize the effectiveness of taking care of F0 patients from community spread