These visuals illustrate how house designs differ regarding climate patterns.

These visuals illustrate how house designs differ regarding climate patterns. The most apparent distinction between houses poses in the shape of the roof. The designs are also different with regard to the windows and the use of insulation. One of the main things to note is that the cool climate house possesses a roof which points upward so that sunlight gets in through the window. Conversely, the roof of the warm climate house owns a peak in the middle and roof overhangs to create shadow for the windows. Insulation and thermal construction materials are applied in cool climates to prevent heat loss. On the other hand, insulation and reflective materials are used to keep the heat out in warm climates. What's more, the cool climate house has one window which faces the direction of the sun rays. Yet, the warm climate house windows are shaded from the sun on two sides. Ventilation can be provided by opening them at night. (159)