These days some people spend a lot of money on tickets to go to sporting or cultural events. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, there has been much discussion concerning the tendency of people allocating a higher budget on buying sports or cultural tickets. Some people claimed that there are various benefits from spending a high expenditure on those events. However, I believe that this phenomenon has detrimental impacts which lead to the negative tendency. To begin with, it is widely believed that eventgoers have contributed to the development of sports and arts. Most artists and athletes are not supported by the government funding, and therefore the ticket sales will help them to survive in the sports and arts industries. For instance, money earned from the ticket sales of angklung concerts will help to preserve the existence of angklung as a traditional music instrument. In addition, this kind of activities could boost social skills because they will meet many people, and they can expand their social network. Nonetheless, I disagree with those aforementioned arguments. Allocating exorbitant budget on the tickets is not a wise lifestyle. First, this lifestyle against the basic financial rule, which the allocation proportion on savings should be higher than that on leisure activities. Despite of having balance composition in financial management, most adolescents prefer to use their money on concerts than investment, which is not beneficial for their future. Furthermore, there is less contribution that made for helping impoverished families because they have already expensed their money on tickets. Rather than paying too much on ticket costs, it is better to use those money to help poor families. In conclusion, some people argue that the high expenditure on sports on tickets has supported the development of sports and arts. Nevertheless, I believe this kind of lifestyle bring negative impacts because people are less likely to spend their money on investment and economically deprived communities.