A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research.

There is a growing debate these days about how animals are treated by humans. Although, an increasing section of people are of the opinion that animals must be protected against exploitation and should have the similar rights as that of humans, there are others who argue that animals should not be utilized to meet various human demands. Firstly, animals are living beings just like man. They too feel pain, get infected and contract diseases. Illegal human activities such as hunting and poaching have endangered many animal species and have brought various others to the brink of extinction. For example, the tigers in India and elephants in South Africa. Also, numerous beauty products invented today are tested on animals in harsh conditions. All these stresses the need to create laws the provide protection rights to animals. There are cases where humans are left with no other option other than to use animals for their benefit. For instance, whenever a new vaccine gets invented, it has to be tested first on animals that are genetically similar to man. The food industry is also dependent on animals as a large part of human population is non-vegetarian. Many countries export meat and generate a large portion of their revenues from this. While the use of animals in the field of medicine cannot be ignored, proper care must be taken to ensure there is no cruelty done. In my opinion, man being the most advanced creature should feel responsible for taking care of these voiceless animals. Stringent laws must be enacted and put in to place by the government to ensure safety of animals. General population must be educated and awareness must be created